top of page

Spring Time Pests


The weather is starting to get warmer, at least where I live. The sun is shining, plants are blooming, but the worst part is... the bugs are coming out. Yuck! That's the only bad thing about spring time, except allergies... but that's a whole other story!

When i was a child, going camping was the go to vacation for us. We lived too far away from the beach, so camping was the next best thing. I love it! Being out in nature is somewhat therapeutic for me. We would always bring OFF! bug spray with us, and it did it's job. It kept the bugs away. I hardly got any bug bites from camping.

If only my parents and I knew what was in them all those years ago, I would not have wanted to use them.

There was study conducted in the late 1980's on Everglades National Park employees to determine the effects of DEET found that a full one-quarter of the subjects studied experienced negative health effects that they blamed on exposure to the chemical.

Studies on rats, found that frequent and prolonged DEET exposure led to diffuse brain cell death and behavioral changes, and concluded that humans should stay away from products containing it.

Effects included rashes, skin irritation, numb or burning lips, nausea, headaches, dizziness and difficulty concentrating.

That doesn't sound like a good time to me, at all!

That's when I discovered that I could use my essential oils to make a bug spray! Chemical free and good for you body. It's a win-win situation.

It's as simple as using some purification, lavender, R.C., and some Thieves. This spray worked wonders on me! I would just put that all in a little spray bottle/spritzer and I was good to go! I'm usually a mosquito magnet, but this has cut that down so they don't even want to come near me.

Another win for essential oils! I keep on finding ways to kick those nasty chemicals out of my home!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page